A is for Alphadello

Welcome to my new blog!

Alphadello is a place to celebrate my love of alphabet books, my passion for drawing and painting, and my enthusiasm for The Internet Archive, which aims to provide and preserve universal access to all knowledge–the most ambitious library project ever conceived.

Thanks for joining me on this alphamaniacal journey.

Walrus Writing a Whodunnit

A few years ago, I painted this Walrus Writing a Whodunnit for an alphabet poster published by the Canadian Society of Authors, Illustrators and Performers (CANSCAIP). I had so much fun that I couldn’t resist painting more, more, more alphabetical pictures–and that’s how this blog was born.

It has been well remarked, that the Walrus forms a connecting link between the Mammalia of the land and those of the water. . .It is often seen the size of a great Ox, and sometimes exceeds the dimensions of the gigantic Elephant.

The quote is from Robert Hamilton’s book The Natural History of the Amphibious Carnivora. London : W.H. Lizars, 1839, p 103. Click here to read or download this book for free from the Internet Archive.

artwork by Joanne Stanbridge

This entry was posted in General.

3 comments on “A is for Alphadello

  1. This is such a creative idea for a blog! I look forward to seeing more!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.